• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Fishing Before Opener

Colton Adams

Hello,

I am fairly new to fishing and was just curious about laws/regulations about fishing before opener on May 14th. I am under the assumption that you are allowed to fish for pan fish year round. My question is, am I allowed to fish with a slip bobber at any point before opener? Could I just put a minnow on and fish off the bottom for anything that bites? I do not plan on keeping anything I catch, I just wanna get on the lake when it thaws and get a line in the water. Any help would be appreciated!

There are fish that one can target all year round.  That includes sunfish/crappies/suckers.

(I will personally say fishing the sucker-run April in the river is some of the most fun fishing I will have all year.)

"anything that bites" is always awesome fishing, but a conservation officer is going to want to identify what you are targeting (so if you are fishing before May 14th, you're going to be asked what you are fishing for).  The fish you are targeting must be legal; furthermore, the challenge is that the species you are "targeting" is at the discretion of a conservation officer.

I can't imagine any officer would be upset with you using a slip bobber with a panfish jig (?flu flu, piece of night crawler, crappie minnow) even though all of us have probably caught bass or northerns with that setup...  

BTW, I have caught many crappies on small rapalas over the years and I would warn you:  Do not use rapalas, spoons or crank baits to "target" crappies before the opener.  Just because you claim to de targeting crappies, the officer can conclude you are targeting bass out of season.