• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Two feet of ice...does this warm weather affect anything?

Hey all...I am a noob ice fisherman and want to be as safe as possible...

The lakes around my area have about 2 feet of ice and the warm weather the past few days has me nervous driving my Ford Ranger on the ice...

I am assuming that I should not be concerned yet BUT I just wanted some reassurance before I go this evening.

*There is no major flow in the lake FYI*

Thanks for any help and sorry if this is asked too much!

smurfy

With 2 feet of ice, this short warm spell hadn't hurt the ice one bit.  Still way more hours below the freezing mark than above 

• Thumbs Up 2
gimruis

Smurfy is right.  A few days above freezing with some melting isn't gonna do much.  But if the pattern continues...here comes spring!

Long range forecasts into March show a warming trend into the 50's.  Say goodbye to winter.

Edited by gimruis
  • Thumbs Up 1
Rick G

Two feet of ice is going to take a little bit to damage it.   You will know when it's time to quit driving out.  access points are usually the fish to show how bad the ice is deteriorating.   

• Thumbs Up 2
Wanderer

If Smurfy thinks it’s safe you could drive a car hauler full of Ford Rangers on it. 🤭

• Yayyyy 1

Thanks everyone for the reassurance! Everything was fine but not a thing was biting and nothing even appeared on text book perfect sand bars 😭

• Confused 1
smurfy
32 minutes ago, Wanderer said:

If Smurfy thinks it’s safe you could drive a car hauler full of Ford Rangers on it. 🤭

🤣🙄🤣 got that right👍👍

leech~~
15 hours ago, 7sixes said:

Thanks everyone for the reassurance! Everything was fine but not a thing was biting and nothing even appeared on text book perfect sand bars 😭

What were you trying to catch on the sand bars and what time of day were you there? 

Join the conversation