• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

• WE CREATE LONG TERM, MEANINGFUL RELATIONSHIPS IN HERE ... PLEASE JOIN US.

You know what we all love...

RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE
    When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

sparetime

Strikemaster will not run

Question

sparetime

I have a Strikemaster Lazer mag that I'm having trouble with.  I'm guessing the auger is about 5 years old

I've always ran non ethanol fuel in it.  Emptied the fuel from it and put in fresh, new spark plug also.

I can get it to start and run, will throttle up, but will not idle after it has been running at full speed.  Dies as soon as you release the throttle.  Can't get it to start again after that. 

Took the carb off, sprayed it down with carb cleaner, which helped some, but didn't fix the problem.  Took it to a small engine guy, he said that he adjusted the carb and it was good to go.  Brought it home and tried it out, nothing different than what I had before.  He didn't charge me, but it isn't fixed either.

I'm guessing this is an issue with the carburetor.  Any advice on what I should try next?  I'm somewhat handy,

Thanks for any advice

9 answers to this question

Wanderer

Get some sea foam in that gas tank and run ‘er!  I can’t tell you exactly where it’s gummed up, but it is.  It’ll take a tank and maybe two but it should clear up.

Or, take the carb back off soak it and clean every oriface you can find by poking and blowing compressed air through all the holes.  Put a new carb kit on it and reinstall.

Whichever way you prefer should work.