• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Fishing piers and park fishing 169 to Monticello?

Hello, first - thanks for all the great info I've dug through in this forum. I'm new to the North Mississippi area and see there are some parks and piers in my area.

I'd like to try from Monticello down to 169 or so from shore this spring and summer. (Dayton/Ramsey border) I'd like to catch (and release) some bass, pike, walleye but will be happy with anything I can get from shore. Just looking for a quiet area to relax and fish where there's at least a chance of catching something. Is this area worth a try or should I head to Pool 2, etc? Thank you

Edited by relgeiz
  • Thumbs Up 1
  • 2 weeks later...
EpGrand12

Go after some roughfish!!! The carp are bulking up before they start spawning heavily and they have been pretty consistent all along that stretch the last few days. I've also been hooking into some White Suckers too that are a pretty good size. Last i checked the water temp for the Mississippi in St. Paul was 44.0 degrees F. That is on the lower end of what Redhorses like to in order to start spawning but, hopefully i can hook into a few shortheads this coming weekend. i feel Most people are waiting for the conditions to become better on pool 2 for the walleyes to concentrate closer to the dam. Hell with that, throw out a worm or some corn and catch some roughfish. It's a fun surprise every time you have a fish on roughfishing like this, this time of year because you can literally hit 10+ species in a day once the temp picks up a little more!!! 

GOOD LUCK ON THE WATER!!

• Thumbs Up 2
trappingaddiction

What have you been getting them on? I normally use crawlers but I am assuming there isn't any around in the bait shops yet.

EpGrand12