• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New to Mille Lacs

bdubs78

Good morning to you all! I recently moved to the Mille Lacs area and I would like to do some fishing on the lake. I am a seasoned vet of Lake of the Woods, but have not fished Mille Lacs other than through a resort charter.

My first question would be what resorts are good for going out of on your own? Plowed roads, decent access, etc. I have no problem paying for the use of the access as I am used to that up north.

As far as knowing where to find the fish, ie rocks, transitions, flats, etc. I am not concerned but just wondering which part of the lake has the best access to those areas.

From what I have read on other posts in this forum, I get the impression that some of the folks on here would prefer not to have new people fish "their" lake so I really don't expect much of a response but I would like to thank any of you decent folks willing to share some advice in advance.

Happy fishing and as always, safety first!

There are multiple resorts that go out to the flats. Terry's on the West side, Red Door on the North end, and Hunter's Point on the East side are some of the bigger ones. Since the majority of the flats are spread out in the middle of the lake it doesn't matter much which resort you go out of it's about the same distance.

If you are wanting to fish other structure it's probably best to find the structure you're after on a map and check which resorts are nearby as there are so many out there. For example sand = North end, gravel bars = South end, weeds = one of the South bays, rocks = East or West sides.