• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

GPS Software & Maps

Sportfish1850

Question

Hey guys:

I'm new to the world of GPS and am about to make my first purchase of a unit primarily for use in the boat, but also for occasional use in the car. I'm willing to drop as much as $500 on the unit but ofcourse if I can get away with spending less that more I can invest in my new rod/reel and tackle for this season.

I've been reading most of the posts on GPS units and most of the discussions seem to focus on the hardware aspects.

I'd like to base my decision on purchasing the GPS a little more on knowing what are the best source of lake maps the GPS units can utilize. Afterall, its not going to do me much good if I have a real nice unit but it displays inaccurate lake data.

It seems the battle is between 1) The Fishing Hotspots CD, 2) The Navionics plug and play cards, and 3) Lake Master CD/cards. I've also seen that some of the products support a map making software you can use yourself ...I think its called MapSource.

How do you guys rank these products in terms of accuracy, variety of lakes included in the data, and ease of use.

What brand of GPS uses the data source you recommend? Are there any GPS units that can make use of more than one source of input data ??

Thanks for helping me make this decision. Its a confusing world of GPS technology out there for a newbie in the GPS market. Every salesman at the show seemed to like a different unit and different data source.

Now I'm seeking input from the guys that use these things in the real world and not from somebody who makes more commision by selling one product over another.

Thanks for any information you provide that will ease my confusion and anxiety about making a bad decision on this piece of equipment.

Kevin

[Note from Rick: For more info go to:
http://Minnesota-lake-maps.com ]