• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Well I Got The Tag, Now I Need The Gear!

TMF89

Well I drew my buck tag! I now have a deer tag for Wyoming this fall, and I'll be going out and spending a few days with my uncle chasing after em! I know it's a deer hunt but this thread is more concerned with the gear/equipment aspect of it, so I put it in this forum.

I've only stand-hunted here in Minnesota before, so I have no equipment for an open-country/mountain hunt. I need boots, clothing, a pack, equipment, a gun, the whole sheebang!

Now I work in the outdoors industry thankfully, so I'm able to get some products at discounted prices. So that's why I won't be using a Remington 770 w/a Simmons scope and some Wal-Mart apparel!

For a rifle/scope I'm tentatively thinking a Sako A7 in a 25-06 with a Leupold scope of some sort, either a VX-1 or 2, probably in the generic 3-9 mag range? I'm Finnish myself, so that's part of the reason I like Sako. Also they're just really great guns, from what I've seen and heard. I might be able to be convinced to go with the 85 instead of the A7 if anyone can give me a pros/cons/differences list? Otherwise I'm open to other manufacturers as well.

I really like the lightweight recoil and ballistics of the 25-06, and I'm hoping to use this as a deer/varmint gun, and then get a larger caliber rifle later to work for bigger game. As far as the Leupold scope, I like the brand and the scopes from what I've seen in stores. Now obviously the point of these forums is discussion, so if you guys think there's something better out there for me let me know!