• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

jiffy auger problem

cgw

Question

Was wondering if anyone had some advice on a problem I have been having with my auger. It is only 2 years old and ever since I first bought it it doesn't start without pouring some gas into the spark plug?

11 answers to this question

is it a three horse?. they have lots of carb problems, if you don't use high quality fuel and mix there oil with it to the precise specs the mix will just turn into glue. i got a three horse and it has never once ran correctly. saving up for a two horse strikemaster!

I've fooled with lots of small engines, but always with the owners manual for reference, so I'm no expert. But if you have to pour fuel into the cylinder to get it to fire then it's not getting enough fuel on its own. It's set too lean or there's a fuel blockage somewhere. Check to see if there's fuel coming to the carb. If not, your blockage is between the tank and carb. If there is, you have a carb problem.

But I don't know how far you want to get into it. If you're handy, it's worth doing yourself. If you're not, give it to a professional.

Surface Tension, what's your take?

Tecumseh makes all the motors on Jiffy and Strikemaster. I have a 7-year-old 3 hp Strikemaster XL-3000 that runs like a champ. I've been hearing the last couple of years from a number of peope that the Tecumseh 3hp on both brands have been running like crap, and I'm wondering what Tecumseh might have changed.

------------------
"Worry less, fish more."
Steve Foss
[email protected]

[This message has been edited by stfcatfish (edited 11-28-2003).]

The carbs are really touchy.
If you are not comfortable messing with the carburator settings, take it to an authorized reapir shop. It may cost a few bucks to get it fixed, but it sounds like it needs to be done.

Good Luck!