• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

newbie help

stckthrwr

hello,

I am a newbie for ice fishing. a buddy and I are going up to Mille Lacs next weekend. It is also my buddies first time ice fishing.

I am wondering what people would suggest as bare bones set up for ice fishing, aside from a rod of course. smile It seems like people are saying to use a specific color of hook on Mille Lacs? Is it preferrable to use a plain hook with minnow as opposed to an ice fishing spoon?

When we get there, is there a bait that we should get/not get? I have seen people talking about rainbows vs suckers. Bigger better than smaller?

We are heading up next friday-sunday and hoping to get into some fish and have a good time. We aren't going to be going around on the lake, just to the house we rented. Not expecting to catch a ton of fish since we aren't moving, but just getting some time on the ice.

Any help would definitely be appreciated. Thanks all!

Nathan

I don't know the lake the best newbie but since nobody seems to want to help you out I would suggest looking on line for some resorts on the lake near where you want to go out. Give them a call and ask them what is working, what would be a good idea to bring, etc.

The bite changes from week to week generally and what they are biting on (jig color, types, etc) probably changes too so the resorts/bait shops in the area are probably your best bet. Other than that bring whatever you need to keep you warm and dry, auger for drilling, ice scoop to clean out your holes, poles, tackle, bait, bucket to bring home your limits of fish ;), some money to pay the resorts for use of their roads (and bait you may purchase), etc. Oh yeah and fishing licenses are probably a good idea too!