• RECEIVE THE GIFTS MEMBERS SHARE WITH YOU HERE...THEN...CREATE SOMETHING TO ENCHANT OTHERS THAT YOU WANT TO SHARE

You know what we all love...

When you enchant people, you fill them with delight and yourself in return. Have Fun!!!

Pflueger Guy

Is it too late to start ice fishing in early February? Most would probably say it's never too late to start fishing...But I decided give ice fishing a try for the first time this season. I just bought a rod and pole combination, Marcum VX-1(most affordable for me based on what it does), and a buddy of mine just bought a portable house an an auger. So he will apparently be my fishing partner for the rest of the ice season until I get my own portable and auger next year. He doesn't have much ice fishing experience either.

As far as fishing goes, I'm not new to the area lakes and fishing. I'm a complete rookie when it comes to ice fishing though. A couple of questions if anyone wouldn't mind giving me some tips.

What kind of lures/bait work in the ice? Only lure I was able to find that was somewhat popular for walleyes/perch were buckshot rattle spoons. I'll have to do further research even if given some artificial lures are mentioned. I know wax worms and minnows can work. I've also seen some red wax worms, are those any more effective?

And secondly, how do you go about finding fish? Go out on a lake, pick a spot, drill some holes, and keep repeating until you mark some fish? I've watched a lot of videos on how to work my Marcum VX-1 so I have a pretty good understanding of how it works already.

I also have most depth maps of lakes which are probably somewhat outdated, but which depths are common for crappie bites? Walleye bites? Or are they completely random?

I know this post has a lot of questions scattered throughout, but don't feel obligated to answer every single one of them, just one would be great. Thanks in advance!

Mankato-Ice-Man

Welcome to a pretty cool sport, no pun intended.