• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Where to find Grouse

chasineyes

Newbie here to the grousing world, so where do you find/hunt for grouse? My parents have a cabin up in Walker so we were up there this past weekend and went out walking in the PaulBunyan forest. Is there something you should look for in regards to cover, water food etc..? I doubt your suppose to just walk the trails and hope for the best???

Thanks

Great weekend for walking though with the leaves in good color!!! cool

It's a dry year, so your best bet is to concentrate on trails very near creek/river bottoms or boggy areas.

I'd also look for "grousy" cover, consisting of young popular groves and pinewood transition areas. Don't pass on any berry patches. Grouse love highbush cranberries. Clover and birch buds also are grouse go-tos.

Then hunt the first few hours of the morning and the last few hours of the evening. That's your best bet for finding birds near trails. If you don't mind busting brush, you could hunt all day, too, but I enjoy stopping for lunch and a nap halfway through the day, anyway.

I was down around Walker yesterday. I put a few miles on and flushed a few was all. Young, dog hair thick popple is my favorite hunt. Stuff that is 10 to twenty years old. Transition areas too are nice. I used to cruise timber for a living and would often find them deep in ash swales too. I like in the mornings the best. Catch alot of them trying to warm up in the sun after a chilly night.