• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

New Rifle!?!?! What should I get?

PackerBacker12

Im looking into getting a coyote rifle. What do you guys prefer or think I should get? I want a very accurate rifle. Do you guys like ARs? I would like an AR I think. Do you guys have anything against ARs? are the ARs as accurate as say a bolt action rifle? I was also wondering what kind of caliber you guys prefer to shoot at coyotes? I shot a .308 today and kinda liked it. It was something different. My buddy has a 22-250 that I think I really like. Im fairly new to shooting smaller caliber rifles. I have shot a 30-06 and a 7mm for years.

22-250 is a great yote caliber... others 204, 223, 243... I shoot a 243 right now, hope to maybe get a 22-250 some day... or a 25-06... or who knows...

you can't beat a good solid bolt action for accuracy IMO... the ARs i have shot are NOT as consistent... but I think if you are willing to fork out some cash you can get into one that is accurate. If you are going with anything other than a 223 in an AR though the ammo will bite... you WILL have a tendency to shoot more rounds, practicing or hunting... Good luck!

Yeah my buddy has an AR 223 and that is the reason he got that caliber because the ammo is cheaper than say a 22-250

I've got a 17 REM in bolt and AR and both of them shoot tiny little groups with very little recoil. The only drawback is ammo is harder to find and pretty expensive but those 17's are a blast to shoot. My son shoots a 223 and loves it as well. If your hunting Wisconsin or Minnesota any gun you get should be accurate enough out of the box for the ranges we shoot.

Rob

It's been a while since I bought a new rifle but this past spring I picked up a Browning X-Bolt Varmint Special in a .243 and I REALLY like it, very accurate out of the box and a blast to shoot.