• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Lets Talk Fall Trolling!

Chumba

The board has been Sloooooow the last couple weeks. Lets get some good discussion going.

So fall night time trolling on the big pond. i am new to this. Tell me about what works for you. What type of set up? Spinning reel vs baitcaster? Mono vs braid?

how do you know how deep you are running? Ive been doing a lot of lead core, and I am used to the equations. Do people use line counter reels to keep a consisitant amount of line out? Or because you are trolling shallower, is this not an issue? More of a trial and error, let out line until you hit weeds or rocks and then reel up a bit?

Also what size of cranks do you go with 5-7? Colors?

I have no info on this whatsoever but would be intresting to see if people chime in on how they approach fall trolling. I fished Mille Lacs around 15 time from June 1st to Aug 1st lindy rigs and jigs only with so so results after July 10th. Does anyone fish larger live baits and jigs in the fall? Gravel? Reefs? Any info Chumba? Thanks

Kettle

I have no info on this whatsoever but would be intresting to see if people chime in on how they approach fall trolling. I fished Mille Lacs around 15 time from June 1st to Aug 1st lindy rigs and jigs only with so so results after July 10th. Does anyone fish larger live baits and jigs in the fall? Gravel? Reefs? Any info Chumba? Thanks

Kettle

I will say that from my experience and what I've read, the mid-july to late-August bite for walleyes is terrible on the lake, in general. Sure, people catch some fish. If you have no better things to do, it's a good way to spend a day dunking lines. But, if I just HAD to get out on ML in that 6 week timeframe toward the end of summer, I would target something like smallies or even muskies (gasp!).