• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Fighting Zebra Mussels

I'm sure this has been referenced here before, but I came across this today and thought I'd share. The state of Virginia was able to eradicate zeebs in a small lake a few years back. Why wouldn't that works here? Why not make this more widespread?

I'm not fisheries or environmental expert, so I guess I'm wondering what some of you people smarter than me think?

http://www.dgif.virginia.gov/zebramussels/

I am not sure but I think that treatment would kill all of the mussels and clams in the water body.

Not a biologist tho.

Sounds good to me - other than trying to do 100,000+ acres of lake Mille Lacs. I'm guessing the Millbrook quarry is not too big.

Well I'm not an expert at toxicology or anything, but a few things come to mind:

They weren't worrying about native mussels or crustaceans, one would think a potassium concentration high enough to kill zebra mussels would also kill native ones. In non-quarry situations, when there is a much more complex ecosystem, there is going to be a lot of collateral damage. And one would think that 100% effectiveness is not feasible in a large body of water, which means that it'd be prone to another breakout of zebra mussels

We're also talking about a 12-acre body of water, and it cost them 350K to do it. Extrapolating those numbers out and you're talking about 30 million dollars to apply the same thing to Prior Lake, for example.

michigan state has some cool research programs that seem to be gaining momentum for fighting zebes too, but I don't know much about it. Gull Lake near battle creek has a neat research station.

Spend the 30 million. Will probably save us money in the grand scheme considering the futile efforts and expenses we're throwing at it today.

Just convince people that they're a delicacy.