• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Boat Ramp Help

I bought a new boat and have only had it out once. I am fairly new to boats and am really pretty slow getting on and off the ramp. Any tips for me on the ramp that won't get everyone that has done this a 1000xs mad at me while they are waiting? I have heard that some people get pretty rude at the public access. Thanks!

I think one of the area's that irrates people more than anything, whether you are a pro or a rookie, is not being ready to launch. By that I mean have your drain plug in, tie downs removed, tackle boxes, coolers, life jackets etc in the boat prior to backing onto the ramp. that is not the time for housekeeping. If you are launching alone it will take a little longer than if you have someone who can back you in and then pull your rig out right away. I used to put on hip boots, depending on the ramp, and wade out if needed to push the boat off the trailer if I was alone. I had a rope snapped off to the bow eye, so I could pull it back to shore out of the way, get in my vehicle and move for the next person. The biggest thing is to be prepared for what you are doiing. A little practice and you will be just fine. Good luck with your new ride.... smile

I launch by myself quite a bit and unless it's flip flop weather I always throw my hip boots in the truck. Only takes a second to put them on and you don't have to play the trailer balancing act to get the boat back on.

Ebiz

When you launch it do you just tie it to the dock and then go park your truck? I am a little concerned about it banging against the dock and scratching it all up. Also, I have a roller trailer so should I just drive it right on the trailer and then hook the strap?

thanks for the assistance all!