• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Montana Merriam

PFUNK

Thought I'd share a picture and story of the Merriam I took this morning near Missoula, MT. I moved here three years ago for college but haven't hunted turkey at all up until this year. If fact, this is my first year hunting turkey anywhere, and it turned out a success. Myself and a friend of mine have been hunting a square mile section of USFS ground and have been getting on birds every day but the problem has been pulling them off of the surrounding private ground onto the public. Well, this morning I thought this was going to be the case again. They were gobbling as usual at daybreak as I sat atop a ridge 4900 feet. I spotted a tom a little over a mile off just onto the adjacent private ground. I dropped down the ridge line towards this bird hoping I may be able to call it onto public ground, but as I made my way in its direction a gobbler broke out on the next ridge line to my side. I couldn't tell for sure, but I knew it would also be very close to the private ground so I started clipping as fast as I could to close the distance. Unfortunately this meant I had to drop off the ridge top about 400 feet into the bottom of the draw and then climb up the other side. Worried that the bird was going to work his way toward the private ground I was literally running up the mountain as fast as I could. By the time I got near the top I was totally out of breath but because the tom had been gobbling religiously I knew I was real close. I dropped the pack when I got within 60 yards and started sneaking my way up. I still wasn't sure which side of the line he was on, but eventually I spotted his head and neck and sure enough he was on the public ground... game on! I was already sneaking with the gun shouldered so I would be ready, but when I went to draw a bead on him it was tough to get s