• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Getting Discouraged

mmeyer

Man I'm really starting to get discouraged. I just started spearing this year. I've been out 4 times to places that others have been getting fish but I haven't seen any good fish yet. Just as it was getting dark once I saw 3 little ones but that's it. I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong. I've only actually been out with someone once so I'm not experienced at all.

I'm hoping someone can give me some tips. I've been using a live decoy about 12" long, I put it down about 3-4 feet while fishing in 6-8 ft of water over weeds. 3 of the times out I used an old mankato that was given to me. There's no holes but the canvas is pretty thin and quite a bit of light comes through when it's bright. Can this be a big problem? The other time I was out I used my new FatFish. I would prefer to use that all of the time but I'm concerned about the lack of floor and clear ice. I used some rugs around the hole to prevent slipping but afterwards I thought maybe the fish could see the odd shapes and movement inside.

Are these things that I should be concerned about or is going out 4 times without seeing anything normal?

Please help, I'm getting very anxious to get my first fish!

Thanks

mix it up get some regular wooden decoys to, if you have only been out 4 times i wouldnt worry about it, its been a slow year for me compared to last year just keep going out and try some new areas.

I agree with mrklean. I don't think its anything your'e doing wrong it just takes time quite often.

Alot of guys use hub or flip over houses with some rugs down and have alot of success.

Yeah it's been pretty bad this year, I think once some snow falls(and stays), if that ever happens...things are going to turn around. Just stick with it.