• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I went and did it, got me a vexilar...

fishingguy

Question

I just bought the bullet and got me a vexilar. I am getting the FL8 SLT. Should be here the next day or two.
I was wondering if any of you long time users of flashers, could give me the $1.00 tour. I have read the owners manual via the internet and have a basic understanding, but was wondering if anyone could cut to the chase. Any tips? Short cuts? Things to remember? Basiclly looking for any help anyone could provide to cut down my learning curve.
I am a newbie to the flasher world, so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

18 answers to this question

One tip would be to set the gain as low as possible so your bait shows up as a thin green line.
Also put it on the depth setting that is closest to the real depth so there is as much distance as possible between the ice and the bottom on your screen.

Sometimes fish show up as below your bait when they are actually off to the side because of the angle of the cone.

I always if possible put my fl-8 directly behind the hole that i'm fishing so I can see both the screen and the end of my rod tip when the fish is about to bite. That way you don't have to take your eye off of the screen to watch the fish strike your lure!
I never use a bobber when jigging for walleyes or crappies so I can still see the screen when they hit my lure. I use a bobboer only for my dead stick that I don't have my fl-8 in!
Also keep the transducer snug up against the back side of the hole your fishing to keep it out of the way. And adjust you transducer to hang about 1 inch below the bottom of your hole to avoid tangleing fishing line with your transducer!
Just my 2 cents!
Good Luck!!

Fishguy,