• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

APR, QDM, Trophy Hunters, etc....

DaveT

I'm no professional writer, but I'm going to do my best to convey my thoughts and beliefs on this topic.

I understand that the northern forests and western plains are not applicable, this post pertains to the rest of the state of MN.

I have deer hunted MN all of my life, a total of 27 years if that counts for anything. I have hunted in a bunch of other states but for the sake of this topic, Iowa, Illinois, Kansas, and Missouri will suffice for comparison purposes.

In all of the above mentioned states I have had better hunting, I will define "better" as , seeing more deer, more bucks, and more mature bucks, than I have ever had in MN. I'm sure there are multiple reasons why this is true, some of those reasons like hunting pressure, private vs. public land, or just plain "tradition" are a few of those reasons.

The main difference I see from these states to ours is age structure. These states have similar populations and percentages of harvest as we do. In fact, Iowa harvests a third of their deer every year compared to MN harvesting 20%. That is a huge difference.

MN estimates it's herd at 1 million and harvests 200,000 deer. Let that sink in.

Iowa estimates it's herd at 300,000 and harvests 100,000.

How is it possible that Iowa puts more deer in the record books every year than we do?

I will explain it to you. Iowa starts every season with a balanced deer herd. Does AND bucks of every age class spread out evenly within it's population. They have a firearms season that starts in December when the rut is all but over, which spreads the harvest out EQUALLY through the herd. Bucks and does of all ages are harvested at the same rate, ensuring that next years herd will have the same age makeup as this year's.