• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

.223 for deer?

HandGunner

.223 for deer? out of a kel tec plr16 pistol 9.5 inch barrel?

MV is said to be 2600 out of the pistol. were i hunt max yardage id be able to shoot from my stand is only 100 yards and less most being 30-50 yards. Im in my 4th year of hunting deer. Not to brag but im a good shot and perform shots even better under pressure at times. seeing most of the deer shot by students in my class almost all of them have 2-5 shots in them all being from butt to belly shots and of all my years of hunting all my shots were in the vitals and one i have shot was quartering away and i knew were to place the shot it was a gut shot that led into the heart which dropped the deer so i know what im doing.

so .223 for deer with my kind of shots. Yes? No?

if your wondering about accuracy the pistol is said to have sub 2MOA which is sureley enough for a 100 yard shot. I plan to buy a Kel Tec PLR16

with the right bullet and good shot placement, yes a 223 will take a deer

the right bullet?

I would only use expanding bullets for deer FMJ's are a never in my book because it be like a arrow with a field point on a deer.

only expanders is what i use

Right, this has been discussed before here and I believe that Barnes makes a 65 or 63 grain TSX bullet that would be great in 223 on a deer. I would think that 65 grains is about the lightest I would use on a deer. for sure you want a quality bullet, a soft point would probably do better than a hollow point. I would shy away from the 68 grain target match bullets though, the jackets are too thin