• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Snow Geese?

I was thinking of trying this in the spring and want to know what I need to buy to have a decent chance at some success? I have thousands of acres in NE South Dakota that I can hunt and have seen the snows come through there in the fall while bowhunting, but don't know if hoping they come through this spring is a pipe dream??

• Replies 123
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• carpshooterdeluxe

• bustumup

• Bryce

• Maxxed Out

yes lots of gas money and decoys. most guys i know that hunt snows in the spring run an average of 1300-1500 decoys. i've been hunting snows for about 7 years. bigger the better on the spread. but if money is an issue get what you can afford simple as that. the economy silo socks are fairly cheap or the classic texas rags. but for a small spread i wouldnt run anything less than 500 decoys. if you have a small amount of decoys spread they out wide!!!! the farther apart each decoy is from each other the bigger your spread will look. but if you have a big spread you can run them tighter to simulate a feeding flock. but if your willing to spend a little money get either deadly decoys or green bays. full bodies are the ultiment spread and i would say you could get away with 300-500 of those. socks on the other hand no less than 500-600. than stubble the heck out of your blind. those birds are smart and can pick out your blind before you even know it. you'll need a good e-caller with 2-4 speakers. i would suggest runnin snow talker sounds by performance calls. if ya got any other questions shoot me a pm

Your best bet to get into the game is to either hook up with some friends that already hunt snows, or buy a guided hunt and see if its something you really want to do.