• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Fall Fishing at Gull - Bass and Walleye Trip

I am wanting to have my Dad bring his bass boat up from Kansas for his first Minnesota fall fishing trip. We are looking at Gull Lake mainly because I have fished it a couple of times when renting a boat from a local resort and have a few spots marked. We are catch and release fishermen so any help would be very much appreciated!!

I am new to Minnesota and not exactly sure when the best time to plan this trip would be (to maximize our chances to catch both walleye and bass). Right now we are looking at the first full week of October, but I am wondering if that might be a little late. Is the fishing usually better, say, the week after Labor Day or does it pick up as the water tempurature falls during the fall? What is the current water temperature and what is a good temp range for the walleye and bass feedbag bite on Gull lake? What time frame would you target this year (I thought I heard that water temps are warmer than usual).?

Any other recommendations on lakes in the area to try if Gull wouldn't be your first choice? Are there smallmouth in the area (I heard something about the upper Mississippi, but not sure if that is by boat or wading)?

Any good recommendations on resorts, where there would be a lakeside view and the ability to pull the boat trailer out along the cabin/room to charge and re-stock the boat?

Thank you!!!