• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Diver Tactics Q&A Thread

I would like this thread to be a Q&A style.

I have many years experience hunting divers in MN.

I hunted with a guy last season that had never been on a dedicated diver hunt.

After the first flock of 100 plus Canvasbacks repeatedly strafed the decoys he was hooked. It is a shame we could not shoot, there were some Big Bull Cans in the flock that would have looked good on the wall.

Diver Hunting is what I live for in the fall, I love duck hunting but divers are my passion.

Post your questions and hopefully myself or others here can answer them.

• Replies 120
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• RumRiverRat

• Gordie

• HugoBox

• nate larson

I have seen many of flocks of divers that want no part of being anywhere near the decoys, they always want to be out in big rafts far from the shoreline. Any clues to get them to commit to you near the shore? I finally picked up some diver dekes (1 dozen bluebills and one dozen ringnecks.) I am sure this should at least improve my cause.

jparrucci,

Two things:

Flagging, use a 3 to 4 foot dowel with a pennant shaped piece of fabric that is 24" to 30" long, black or gray on one side and white on the other.

When you see a large group of divers flying around the lake, wave the flag side to side continue until you see them coming towards you.

Decoy spreads, The key is making your decoys visible, Magnum and Super Magnum decoys with white on them, such as Canvasback and Goldeneye decoys.

Also divers are drawn to straight lines, place your decoys in the J-hook formation with the bottom of the J in front of your blind.