• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

• Join In - We Share Fishing Reports & Outdoor Information Here

You know what we all love...

The same things you do!!!! Share what you love & enjoy in the outdoors as well as thank those whose posts you 'appreciate.'

Have Fun!!!

Sign in to follow this  
jwmiller33

new to the metro

jwmiller33

hello all. I am new to the metro area and I was wondering if anybody would give me some advice on some good lakes to try ice fishing. I am originally from Duluth so all my lake knowledge is up in that area. I live in St Paul near Como Lake and Golf course. I have a three man portable and me and my buddy (who is also new to the area and from Duluth as well) are looking to get out and try some lakes around the metro. Willing to travel as much as an hour or so.

I'm not asking anybody to give up their secret spot, I am just looking for some suggestions on good fishing lakes around the metro. If you tell me a lake and how to get there or where it is, once I get out on the lake, I will be able to use my own fishing knowledge, as well as seeing where everybody else is on the lake to find a spot.

How someone out there can help out a fellow angler

jwmiller33

by the way, im open to fish anything... but preferably panfish, walleye, or some nice northerns...

if you suggest a lake, please mention what are the main fish to go for at that lake..

thank you very much everybody

mww24

Theres white bear by you. I live in the northwest metro (coon rapids) so i fish medicine a lot (panfish walleye ) theres minnetonka. can catch everything on tonka. Those are some of the heavier fished lakes around. So setting up by shanty town is a good place to start. theres a ton of lakes though. I like the lake finder at the dnr site to help me find new ones to try. I'm sure more will have suggestions.

jwmiller33