• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

• Join In - We Share Fishing Reports & Outdoor Information Here

You know what we all love...

The same things you do!!!! Share what you love & enjoy in the outdoors as well as thank those whose posts you 'appreciate.'

Have Fun!!!

Sign in to follow this  
tnm27

new to ice fishing

tnm27

hey guys, my wife bought me an ice fishing pole and some equipment being that I love to fish, though this is my first year fishing and ice fishing. I've been reading some posts but I've still got some questions...I'm wondering if some of you guys can help a new fishermen in on some questions I have...

As far as ice fishing jigs, live bait, what are some to take a look at? I'm thinking about doing some panfish, walleye, pike fishing.

I don't have any sort of GPS/locater yet though I do plan to get by early Feb, are there any tricks to finding a good spot when out on a lake?

The sonar I've thought about buying is the Vexlair FL-12, how does the FL-08 do in comparison? and what are some good quality GPS systems to take a look at?

any help would be appreciated..Thanks a lot guys smile.. being that I do live in Waconia, I'll probably see some of you guys out on the lake.

Sandmannd

Welcome to FM tnm27. If you looking at the fishing supply here on the site there are a lot of jigs they sell. I bought the kit last year and has a lot of what you need. Panfish, go small. Ants are good and then a lot of small jigs that glow. For eyes I like to use chubby darters and jigging raps.

You don't need a GPS. You can print out maps off the DNR of lakes and by drilling holes and looking for depth you can find the area's to fish.