• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Rest

Code-Man

I was wondering what people use for rests. I have a whisker biscuit, don't get me wrong I got a great buck this year but am wondering what other people use. I am just starting out and figured get my form down and confidence with the whisker biscuit then switch up to a drop a way but just wondering what others think. Was looking at the Trophy Taker Xtreme line of drop away rests and just wondering if they were good or not. Heard reports from my buddy of why change if it works for you and it's one more thing to go wrong in the field. Thanks for any inputs

The only issues I've ever heard of with a WB is they tend to be noisier than other rests and they have a tendency to freeze up in cold weather.

If you are considering a drop away, just make sure it is some type of full containment. Most out there are very good.

I use the Trophy Taker. The drop-aways are definitely more accurate, but for treestand whitetail hunting I doubt if it would make much of a difference. The bottom line is use what you're confident with. Try it, you can always go back to the biscuit. I had problems with the first Trophy Taker I used because the cradle was so small, occasionally the arrow would pop off, but they make them with a deeper cradle now, I think the one I use now is the Pronghorn, and they also have or had one called the Shaky Hunter with a very deep cradle.

I have never had a malfunction of any kind, however I did have the rest get frozen to the riser on two occasions, so keep an eye on it if you're hunting in wet freezing conditions.

Can't go wrong with a TT or Ripcord. The Limb Driver from Vapor Trail is another great choice.