• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Isle Royale Info/Tips

Not sure if this is the right forum or not, but its the closest I could find.

My Dad wants to plan a trip to Isle Royale for fishing lake trout. We have a 23' boat with lots of experience on Lake Michigan for Salmon. We have been to Superior once near the French River probably 20 years ago...not a lot of experience targeting lake trout. We would probably be taking our boat out from Grand Portage. Any help anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated. Specifically, I am looking for info on:

1) Fishing techniques / what is the fishing like?

2) Boating there / staying there

3) Best time of year for weather/fishing

Thanks...Mike

I'm not an expert but have been out there before and am planning on making future trips.

As far as boating and staying out there you can leave from the Grand Portage or the canadian side. We fished the south side going into siskiwet bay,be careful rocks rise out of the deep right up to the surface so it is easy to wreckprops or bang up your boat. Make sure you have at least 2 motors or a 2nd boat along for back-up. The wind picks up after the sun rises so some guys take off in the dark way before sunup when the water is calmest. Its in michigan water so you'll need a Mi license and camping info can be found on their state/nat park websites.

Bring lots of gas cuz it's expensive out there,and no pets allowed. Fishing can be awesome, good shot at 20+lb lakers and i've heard the inland lakes can be good for a variety of species. We pulled Jplugs but i'm sure spoons,dodgers and other laker lures will work behind downriggers.