• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

fish signals on graph

I am new at using and interpreting signals on a graph. I recently purchased a new Ray Marine l470 graph. I fish mainly for walleyes. I have the "fish symbol" turned off and sensitivity on "auto". Problem is, I don't see the classic "hook-shape" echo (^) that is indicative of fish. Instead, I see a variety of cigar-type shapes, some large some small, some suspended some hugging the bottom. These show up over sandy/gravel bottom in areas I suspect are holding fish, so I can only guess that is what they are, but I am not confident that is what they are. What is going on? Can anyone tell me why I am not recieving the classic echo that indicates fish?

Thanks

------------------
<><<><
Calvinist
><>><>

I have the same question. I have my new graph on auto sensitivity. So are the fish I see on my graph fish or something else. I would like to think they are fish or a good looking mermaid!!!

Here is my 2 cents.

I have an old eagle unit and fish for bass but the prinicples remain the same. Get rid of the auto. Run everything in manual mode. It takes a while(also frustration) getting to use to read in manual. Run the sentivity in manual between 20-65% depending on the weeds etc. Run the chart speed in manual speed up for deep water and slow down for shallower water. Run the grayline between 40-75% depending on the bottom contour.

Also if you call the manufacture and ask for more general info on running various setting I have found(depedning whoo you get on the phone) they are very helpful.

the fishing addict