• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Bait cast reels

I recently bought a new bait cast reel and put some 20# fireline on it. Now the problem I am is the drag isnt working. I was told that when you put fireline or any kinda mono line you have to tie it on the spool a different way. Does anyone know how to do this??

I have been spooling my baitcasters with 20# fireline for about 9 years now.I usually spool the reel up with half a spool of mono 12 to 14# test for a backing so the line won't slip on the spool.Then I use a polamer knot to join the 2 lines and spool the rest with the fireline. It works very well.I'm not sure about the problem you are having with your drag
Tight lines
Basswacker

I was told the reason why the drag wasnt working is the line was slipping on the spool.

I don't mean to sound like an *****, but when you say mono what kinda line are you taking about?? This is learning process for me..

[This message has been edited by mnwild (edited 05-25-2004).]

When I spool my baitcasters with super lines (fireline, power pro, etc.) I usually put enough mono on first to cover the bottom of the spool, tie on my braided line, and spool the rest of the spool. I've had no problems. If you have a spool with holes in it (higher end spools) you can just tie your line right through the hole and skip the mono.

Braided line slips because it doesn't maintain friction with itself or the spool and if you pull the line real hard the knot (and the rest of your spool) will start to slip and will eventually just spin on the spool & let line off - just like if the drag was set ultra low.

Mono is the regular cheap stuff - stren, trilene, generic brand @ gander & galyans, etc... I usually put whatever mono I have in the box at the time. Most recently I've put the Berkley Iron silk mono on and it has worked great.