• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Auger issue

ENMIFDAD

Question

I have a Strike Master 10" Laser auger that I got via a trade about 8 years ago. I can't seem to get it to cut a decent hole. I always thought it was the blades, and after all the ice we have this year I decided to get new blades and put it to use. However it still has the same issue as when I first got it. It jumps around and makes a very choppy hole, not to mention takes forever. I can't seem to see anything that is bent, and the new blades went on perfectly. A heard of another person who has the same issue with the same model. Any ideas??? It's quite a workout on dad to drill 6 holes for me and my boys with my hand auger on a weekend!! crazy.gif

12 answers to this question

With the way that the curved blades are installed on this model, there is really only one way to put them on and they seat perfectly in position. I'm thinking something in the shaft is bent maybe? Any ideas how to test that?

I dont know if your auger has a center point, check your center point to see if it is still sharp. If all else fails go to strikemasters in Big Lake, they will fix you up.

i got the same problem with my 10" strikemaster lazer mag express...i have to press down dang near full force to get it to cut...if i just hold it there and let the auger do the work it will bounce around take an hour and a half to cut a hole.

i bought brand new blades and it helped only a little but not much...it's like my blades aren't making good contact with the ice..but if i press down real hard it cuts decent.