• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Beginer Archer

Code-Man

I'm just getting into the Archery swing and I was looking at bows last night. WOW there are differnt brands and styles. I was looking at the Drenaline that is being a special price for clearance. Anyone had any good bad with this bow? Would this one be a good begining bow or too advanced? Any recomendations would be great.

Thanks

Code-Man,

Go out and shoot as many bows as possible and see what you like the best. When I go out and buy a new bow I shoot as many as possible, but I have not found anything out there that shoots or feels like the Mathews line. If you like that bow you will not go wrong with Mathews.

I'm definately bias on this but make sure you try a Hoyt to. I own the Vectrix and it sounds like the Katera is a touch better. That being said there are alot of nice bows have fun searching.

As far as what you're shooting, there aren't really any beginner or advanced bows except for maybe when you're talking about "brace height". For a beginner you'll typically want a bow with a brace height of 7" or higher. These bows are more forgiving to minor variances in form. As you get better and your form becomes second nature then you can consider bows with shorter brace heights.

The Drenalin is a great bow. Its short, light and plenty fast.

As powerstroke eluded to a bow that is longer wheel to wheel and has a longer brace height will be more forgiving to form issues. And be a more accurate bow for you to begin with.. This usually does sacrafice some speed with it.

Get a bow that fits you.. The Dread is a great bow and a great shooter!..

P.S. Surewood--I'm with you... I currently own 4 Hoyts and thinking of picking up another for 3D.. LOL...