• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

legality of shooting over private property?

hanso612

I need help making an argument on another thread. I want to be sure of the facts before posting. 1. When hunting a WMA can one shoot at a bird that flushes from the WMA but is now in air space over private property. 2. I'm looking for written regulations or statutes or rulings in individual court cases.3 What specifically in the deeds, abstacts, or easments allows ditch hunting in South Dakota but makes it questionable in MN? Thanks for any help. Hans.

You need a lawyer to answer all of the things involved in those questions. How much you willing to spend?

Ok don't quote me on this, as I am a surveyor not a lawyer or assesor. I THINK the reason SD gets away with road hunting is the property owners are not assesed property taxes against the roadway, It is excluded from their total acreage. Where MN prop owners are assesed for their whole acreage including the road.

Like I said don't quote me, as I am unsure. I will do a little research.....

If I am wrong, by all means call me out on this.

I called a retired CO just now that I know...and he said you cannot shoot at game on, over, or under private property without permission.

I asked him where that is written...and he didn't know. He said you cannot retrieve the game with your firearm, so why would shooting game over the line be legal?

I would like to see where this is written too.

So, if I see a deer running on a field..and it jumps...can I shoot it? "But officer, it was in the air when I shot!" To me, the answer is common sense.

No matter what is written and how it is written, people will find "loopholes". Is it right or illegal will be up to the CO at times.

An officer once told me always ask the guy that is going to arrest you for it. I have always thought that was good advise.

Duckster