• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Looking for a handgun?????????

hunterfisher

I am new to handguns and am looking for something fun to shoot. We usually go up to the cabin and lay all our guns out and grab what ever you want and put some rounds through it for fun, nothing to serious or competitive. We have lots of different rifles, shot guns, 9mm and 44 handguns. I was looking at a Rossi model r97206 - .357 mag stainless with 6" barrel, 6 shot. i like the idea of being able to also shoot .38 for price of ammo.

I have been reading online and it doesn't seem like anyone has anything bad to say about the gun. I can get a new one for about $375 or is there a better choice if i can find something used for about the same price? I haven't been able to find these used anywhere. Can you really find good deals at gun shows or is just alot of options? I am new to handguns and any info it would be greatly appreciated..

A .22 semi auto is a lot of fun to shoot and the cost of ammo lets you shoot a lot more rounds for the same money when compared to any of the centerfires. Ruger and Browning make some really good guns that are about in your price range for the Rossi.

You can find some good deals at gun shows, but be prepared to negotiate a little.

Out of all of my 5 hanguns my Ruger 22LR with bull barrel is BY FAR the most fun to shoot. Cheap and accurate!

mnsprtsmn

Thanks for the responses. I have been talking to a friend and it seems like I just might have to pick up a couple of guns.He also says to go with a 22. But then we got talking about bear hunting with a bow and i would like to have a side arm (just in case)so for that i would need to go with a 357 or 44. Anybody have a ruger redhawk 44 9 1/2" stainless with scope for sale...... it seems like my friends just want to spend my money.