• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Need opinions from the experts-Fish House V-front or Slope!

deadminnowcatcher

Question

I have decided to build a new Wheel house. I need to decide if I am going with a V-Front house or sloped front house. I am leaning towards the sloped front house because of interior design reasons. My question is: Is it going to pull alot harder than the v-front? Or will there be little difference because of the sloped roof on the front??? I really want opinions from people that have pulled both types of houses. thanks

21 answers to this question

120 hits on this post and not one expert?? I did not think you could have 120 fisherman without at least a few of them thinking they are experts

I'm no expert or have I ever built one but I'd go with a square fish house then build a v front with outside doors for your auger and propane storage. I wish mine had that.

There may not be alot of people who have pulled both. I have pulled a flat front and a v front, but never a sloped front. The difference between these two is night and day. Esp when you get on the interstate. The flat front works my diesel hard, the v-front is a piece of cake. My flat front has tandem axles and will pull straight as an arrow no matter how fast I drive. The v front is a single axle and is scary at anything over 55. Sorry I got off your subject. Guess I just wanted to point out that if you can't pull it over 50 or so it really does not matter how it is shaped.

Just shooting from the hip and without any firsthand knowledge, I will offer the following. A sloped front will put down force on the entire trailer, creating more force to pull, while a V front should split the wind easier. This is only a guess, but I think it makes sense.