• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

I'm pretty new to lake ice fishing (grew up on the Mississippi) and a long time lurker here. I want to thank everyone for posting all their info. I've learned alot.

I'm trying to get my wife into ice fishing and now that its supposed to get warmer, I want to take her out on Sunday. She is from the South and is excited to try it. We have only been able to get out a few times in the past few years and never really caught much.

As we are newer to the area, are there any lakes where I can take her to catch some pannies, perch and set up a few tip ups? Even if we catch dinks all day, she can learn the techniques and maybe get hooked!!

Thanks for any info and if you want to keep it off the forum my email is [email protected].

reddsixx,

I would run her up to West Rush.

Just look for the crowds for a place to start. If you have a flasher, punch some holes in the 30-40 foot holes, and look for suspended fish, anyhwere to 10 feet off the bottom, now your in Crappie city!

Luck to ya!

Keith

P.S. you can get lake maps for Rush at the DNR website for download, and print. Make sure it is the Rush Lake in Chisago county cuz there is a scad of them LOL.

I found that the best action for beginners is the chisago Lakes area.West Rush is best for size, but you cant beat the action on Chisago,North or South Center or Green Lakes.It is supposed to warm up this weekend so there will be a lot of people out.Most of the lakes in the area including East and West Rush have special regulations so make sure you check on DNR site befor you go. Good Luck

I would run her up to West Rush.