• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Best Crappie Time

JonnyD

Newbie here looking to plan my first trip to search for some big crappies. I've never been on the lake and this will be the first time for me. I'm wondering what time is the best time to come up? Mid December, late March? Any suggestions on bait shops to call to get fishing reports? The lake is huge and have no idea where to fish on it. A little help would be great as I start to plan my first trip up there.

I plan on taking my portable ice shack up, so won't need to rent a shack.

Thanks for any help.

all you gotta do is go to one of the resorts. you pay them a fee to use their access and ice road. they will be able to tell you how far out to go and what depth to fish. with your portable, you can search around to find the fish once your in the right general area. don't forget about the pike, walleyes, and perch. enjoy! wink.gif

Any suggestion on when to go? When would the ice be safe enough to drice a truck on the ice? Is early January a good time or any suggestion on dates to go?

that depends. locate a resort and keep in touch with them as far as ice conditions. typically, resorts don't let vehicles out on the ice until they decide it's safe. these people know what they are doing so be sure to heed their advice! as far as a time frame goes, first ice and last ice is the general rule. keep tabs on this forum for info also. sometimes they go hot suddenly and you must drop everything and go! if you are locked in on a certain date to go up, either they are going or they aint. that's why it's called fishing and not catching grin.gif

• 'we have more fun' FishingMN Creators

Jonny,