• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Which season?

bmc

I'm trying to talk a buddy into trying turkey hunting this spring. We're looking real close at zone 249 south of Brainerd as his brother has some connections down there. Anyone hunt this area before and what season(s) do you think are best. I'm new to this turkey thing and only have 2 seasons under my belt, '00 in Iowa and '07 in WI. Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Brian

How's your work availability? The first thing I did for the MN seasons is figure out which seasons include a weekend, since I won't have the luxury of hunting mid-week like I did last year. Hopefully someone that has the "Northern" birds figured out will chime in as well....

There are an incredible amount of variables that influence how I go about selecting a season, or set of seasons by priority. I'll do my best to outline an approach that's worked well for me in the past and hit most of the highlights.

Lottery Success - How dissappointed will you be if you don't get drawn? Or, in other words, do you need to be drawn this year, and are you willing to sacrifice an earlier season for a surer possibility of drawing a tag later in the season? Personally, I couldn't go a year without it, so I select seasons that are a sure thing.

Pressure - Pressure affects turkeys in many different ways, but the ultimate result is that there are typically less birds to kill, and the ones remaining are harder to kill. Depending on who else may be hunting the land you're interested in, selecting an earlier season puts you before certain folks, but also decreases the chances you'll get drawn.