• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

coyote hunting tips

slick2526

Hey guys, Well im new to hunting coyote. My friends were telling me they have been hearing alot of them and one of them shot one today deer hunting and they other guy told me he seen two running today while deer hunting. Well next week im geting a .243 and decided trying to shoot some coyotes would be fun.

I guess im looking for information as far as what type of call to use that would be easy for a newbie. and where to set up as far as wind and location. Theese areas have some trees along the sides of the fields. One field still has the corn standing and the other field is just tall grass.

Any info on how to set up as far as an area to sit in, calls, or decoys would be appreciated.

can't really help with where to sit, but I would start by making sure if they are in the woods, you are not going through the woods to make your stands.

Wind: coyotes will usually circle down wind of you so make sure you use the wind crosswise or give yourself the least amount of downwind area possible (make sense?)

calls: dan thompson's red desert howler is nice, but it takes a little practice since it is an open reed call (kind of like a clarinet, you move your mouth on the reed to raise and lower the pitch of the call. The PC series of calls are closed reed so they are a little easier, just blow and the sound will come out. If you have ever heard a dying rabbit, it sounds awfully painful, remember that when you are calling.

With out seeing your fields and your areas to set up this is about all I can offer at this time. Get out there and good luck.

I will be taking my .222 rem with me. Primos has a couple excellent videos worth buying. Head to the sportmans ware house or simular store to the coyote section and you will find everything you need.