• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Questions for starting out with a slug gun

mamohr686

I'm originally from ND and deer hunting with a shotgun is a new concept for me. I have a 20 g 870 wingmaster collecting dust and I was wondering if it's worth it to buy a slug barrel for it. Is a 3" 20g a decent caliber for a slug gun? or is a new 12 the way to go? What kind of barrel would you suggest and what are the differences in the types of slugs? Do you guys sight in your slug gun for 100yrds?

I am a slug hunter who used to be a rifle hunter. Slug guns are not rifles, but with the new technology available, they are much better than they used to be. If it were me, I would buy a rifled slug barrel with at least a 1 in 28 twist, preferably a 1 in 26 twist. Hard to find, but they are out there. I shoot a 12 guage, but the new high speed sabots for 20 guages are a great option. I also sight my gun at 100 yards and if you use the new generation sabots, you can reach out to 200 yards. I also use a scope. Sabots are not a cheap proposition. You will spend around $15 for a box of five. If you have to hunt in the shotgun zone, the things I have mentioned will make you a much more efficient deer hunter. One warning - they kick like a mule!

Hopefully, my slug gun will make me a very happy man tomorrow morning!

I shoot a 12 gauge, and have no experience with a 20. But I was speaking to a farmer a couple years ago that swears by his 20 gauge. He's taken many deer with it up to 80 yards, and says his open sites are fine.

My wife shoots a 20g Remington 870 express. Open sights at 50yds and she put 5 sabots in the target the size of a coffee can. She shoots the 2 3/4. The 3 inchers have a little more kick. I used this gun 2 years ago bear hunting and took down my bear at 30 yds. The gun is really light for when she wants to still hunt.