• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Shooting a bedding deer.

Slow Jigger

Ok here it is? I am still a rookie as far as I know!

Shooting a bedding deer? Is there anything that one should be aware of if taking this type of shot? I have a doe that beds in some pine trees and she was seen by the owner of the land just yesterday. She didn't spook and just looked at him.

Is there unwritten or written rules about shooting deer out of beds?

Unwritten rule- some people think that shooting a bedded deer is unethical and not sporting. Honestly, I've never understood this. I always thought that if you can get close enough for a shot with the deer that's unaware of you, you should take it and be proud that your hunting skills allowed you the opportunity.

There isn't a rule on it as far as I know. But I'd really be surprised if she let you walk up to her and shoot her, if she did, I'd be leary about what was wrong with her. A better bet might be to find where and when she is coming and set up an ambush. Deer don't always bed in the same spot, usually a similar area, but thats why hunting is so hard. If deer had set beds, this would be a piece of cake.

I guess if you would get the shot, I would still aim behind the front legs, I don't think it is a very high percentage shot because half of the deers vitals will be on the ground, your margin for error decreases. I would advise against it, but I'm not going to tell you what to do. Good luck, let us know if you get a shot at her.

I think if you get a shot, take a shot! This is like shooting a grouse on the ground or in a tree! The sportsman comes out in me and I try to flush the bird, but in the end I want the meat! I will take a clean shot if I get one!