• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

St. Cloud dam fishing help

I am a student at SCSU and my roomate and I are looking to pull out a few fish, anyone with any tips on what/where to fish that would be willing to share?

Thanks,

Weisert

The 10th street dam is a great place to fish, especially if you get away from the pier in a canoe out in front of the dam area. This is the best time of year to fish it and you should catch a mixed bag of smallies, walleyes, crappies, cats, and who knows what else.

If I remember correctly, right underneath the dam is a hole that's been dug out by the water rolling over the dam. Then maybe....15 feet or so there's a hump where all the soil has been deposited. It's a good spot.

If my memory of the spot is a bit spotty (pardon the pun), my memory of catching fish down there on shad raps isn't! Just get out there; there are tons and tons of spots to catch fish. And with this water as high as it is, you can do awesome from shore as well. A friend and I got 15 chunker walleyes down there last week using pretty much every bait in the tackle box: jig/minnows, cranks, swimbaits, raps, ripsticks, mister twisters and sassy shads, even a senko!. They are all working now!

Carl

Try casting hardbaints and cranks (like a big Husky Jerk or anything like that.)at night during the full moon period. When I was a stundet at SCSU I used to walk down stream about a 1/4 mile and do that. I used to catch waleyes, smallies, crappies, etc. If it swims int he river it eventualy turns up arouund the dam. Also you might try the Dam at Sartell at night

I would advise using the larger cranks or jerks, say 7 inches or more. It was my experience that this time of year they like the larger baits. Let us know how you do! Good Luck! Tight Lines!