• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Public Hunting Land on the Mississippi??

GoggleEye

I posted this on the "hunting" forum, so I thought I would post it here too..... I am looking for some bowhunting land as I am new to the metro area and I am wondering if any of the land along the Mississippi river is open to public hunting? I was out yesterday looking around south of the 494 bridge (about 1.5 to 2 miles down) and saw a lot of nice river bottoms and huntable islands, but I have no clue if hunting is permitted in any of these areas. A lot of the land south of the power plant looks like very good deer habitat too. I motored back into a backwater area and did see three does feeding along the water. I didn't see a single piece of land posted either along the river except one state property that was posted as a state natural area which is closed to hunting. Other than that, I couldn't tell what was state or federally owned and open to bowhunting. Can anyone help me out? You can email me if you prefer, my address is [email protected] I am always looking for hunting partners also, so if anyone is interested in checking out some land along the river with me, let me know. I live in west st paul so this area is very close by and works out well for me as I have a little boat that runs pretty shallow to get me into these river bottom areas. Should I look elsewhere.....something better in the area?? I'm getting to the point where I may just hang up the bow until I can afford to buy my own land, which may be never. I am just sick of hunting public land with all the (Contact Us Please) you run into, not to mention I am just looking to shoot a mature buck...which seems impossible on public! Thanks for any help.

GoggleEye