• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Trolling Cranks

JonnyD

I'm a rookie to the big pond. I just moved to the area this year and have only fished it 3 times so far. My Dads coming up this weekend and would like to get him on a couple nice eyes. I'm only familiar with the 7 mile/busters flat area and surrounding. I also have the lake masters gps chip, so I can find most of the polular areas. It sounds like right now the best chance to catch some eyes is to pull #11 Taildancers. Is this still the best bet in this area or can I go back to rigging?

My question is, how do I know where to start trolling out in this area? Do I troll on top of the flats, on the edge of them, or off them a few 100 yards and troll in no mans land. It sounds like a lot of guys go in no mans land and fish for suspended walleyes. My question is where? Is any one willing to point me in the right direction. I'm not looking for your gps cordinate, but maybe a general area where you've caught a few before trolling. When fishing in no mans land, do you just put the boards and start trolling, or do you actually drive around and look for suspended fish or bait fish.

Or am I better putting some spinners on and just fishing around the flats?

Any help would be great.

Use your electronics to locate fish in the areas your talking about, If your not marking fish chances are your not going to catch any. grin.gif

Come on guys, I'm not looking for your gps spots. Just wondering where to start looking for suspended fish. Any one want to share where the've had luck in the past..Any direction at all would be great. IE looking around 3 mile, 7 mile, 8 miles, Busters, Shermans, where should be a good starting point to start looking for suspended fish, or where have people had luck in the past?