• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

The dog and the WIFE!

trailratedtj

I was wondering if any of you guys have had problems training your dog due to your wife or girlfriend interfering or ruining what you have done.

Reason being is im having bad problems...im not saying im a good trainer but i know somewhat of what i want done and how to somewhat do it. I have my commands and she has her commands...well her long list of sentences that you could call commands. Geez..im starting to pull my hair out. He's only six months old i do/ did have a good stable form of obedience. Now all he does is look for a treat. Ive tried beating it in her head but nothing works. I keep screaming "you've got to be consistent" but it never happens. The bad thing that doesnt help is im out of town sometimes and when i come back i have to back track in my training and it gettig now to where im falling behind, and we havent even got out of basics. Ive even used other dogs ive owned that never met her and how well they behaved and performed and how the new dog compares and how bad she effect my new dog..please give me some sort of words of wisdow or a padlock so can lock her in the shed.

Daniel

I'll go get a padlock for ya. That'll help with the training and less feedback on planning an upcoming hunting trip!

Before you lock your wife in a shed over a 6 month old dog, I would step back and realize that it's still a puppy. I am not a dog trainer but my 10 month old lab was consistent, but not perfect because of my wife's affection and different commands.