• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

arrow enters target at an angle

mrjigger

I know, I know, I should have started shooting my bow along time ago, but I just started shooting again on Sunday night. Just never seemed to find the time in between family obligations. Anyway, I have noticed that my arrows are entering the target at an angle instead of going straight in. Accuracy is good however. Is this a form issue? Any Thoughts?

Your bow could be out of tune. It could be a hard spot in the target... quite a number of things.

You can still get good "accuracy" if it is out of tune. However in the woods you probably want the arrow flying as straight as possible so you have less possiblity of deflections.

Take a few minutes to tune your bow.

Yep, sounds like your bow is slightly out of tune, possibly that your nock/string and your sight are out of line slightly. Where is the fletching located compared to your field point? A paper test at your archery shop will also show it.

When your bow is that out of tune, a broadhead (which is now engaged in steering the arrow) can take your flight way off course.

Mr... take an old picture frame 8-11" and put a normal piece of paper in it... NOT NEWS PAPER!!! and shoot through it(make sure you will still hit your target. Frame should be about 5 feet in front of target and about 10 feet from you. If your punching bullet holes, its your target, many targets will kick an arrow... Paper tune is the way to go.

Could be hand torque as well. I would paper tune first though just to make sure it is not a tuning issue.

Do they all fly that way or is it just a few out of let's say a dozen or so?