• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Do I want a Pointer or Flusher?

Big Dave2

I have posted a version of this question before, but I am really close to getting my 1st ever hunting dog and I REALLY need some advise.

I have been researching different hunting breeds for a good 2 years now(we had an OLD cocker that just passed away that I knew was inevitable)) and I just can't seem to make a decision.

Before I can decide on a breed, or even narrow it down to 1 or 2, I need to decide the all important, flusher, pointer part of the equation.

I am not an every day avid hunter, but I like to go out and hunt pheasants and grouse. I hunt pheasants mostly in the thick cover of some small WMA's near where I live. That being said, I would think that a flusher would be the obvious choice for me because a pointer might be a little harder to see and hunt with in the thick cover. Also I would think that with this being my first try at training a hunting dog maybe a flusher would be slightly easier?

I also love to hunt grouse, probably more-so than pheasants. I go up north any chance I get and give it a try, which may not be as often as pheasant hunting but hopefully having a good dog would give me the extra incentive to do it more often. I think that the general rule of thumb is that pointers are most often going to out-produce flushers in the grouse woods, so here in lies my problem.

Which one?

Having said all of this, it is important to note that I am not die hard and just want a good dog to be a family companion first and foremost and a hunting companion for me and someday my 7 year old son.

I just need to make a decision soon, as it is getting lonely in our house which has never been dogless since we bought it 14 years ago!