• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

how often do you check your cameras???

Christopher Quast

I'm curious to know how often other hunters go check their cameras before the season??? The land I hunt is more of a pass through area more so than a bedding area and where are some of the best places to hang and also the best hieght to set them at. I just got my Moultrie 4.1mp last year in august so I'm pretty new to this whole deal although I did get quite a few pics last year but only few of bucks and I know there are a fair amount of bucks around my area and this is my last question do you tend to get more buck pics with the flash on or off cause I really think the flash spooks the bucks what is everybody's opinion on these subjects???????

I check mine from every few days to couple weeks but I have them positioned in areas I don't have to leave much trace getting too. The flash does spook deer sometimes but seems more often does not in my experience.

I agree, flash spooks some deer. If you do a little research on the net, it is pretty much a given that this is true and expected. You might want to take a look at IR cameras, this is a solution to conventional flash cameras. Good luck!

I would disagree that flash spooks deer in my situation.

My cameras are out almost year round. In my opinion, the deer I am getting pictures of are used to it. I have pics of the same buck at a mineral spot for several minutes. And thats normal.

I think that if you are in an area where there is "normal" human activity that flash wont bother them either. What I mean is that if you are in an area where you frequent the location a lot, of if human activity is there constantly, flash isnt going to upset them.