• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Duluth City Ordinance on Boats

I live in lakeside and unfortunately I own a house without an alley and no off street parking. I have been parking my boat on the street for the last 3 years with no problems. Last sunday a crabby old lady, that I was extremely polite to, starting yelling at me about parking my boat on the street. Well I came home yesterday and there's an ffin ticket on my boat. The ticket states that no trailer can be parked on the street unless it is hitched to a vehicle. Any body have any suggestions on what to do? I don't want to put it in storage because 90% of my fishing is on the river or big lake and I just pull my boat to work and go from there. Anybody had to deal with this before? thanks,

Dave

I have the same situation on London Rd. and 15th St. There is a garage for the house that I live in, but the landlord keeps his truck in there while he has his BMW out for the summer. I asked if we could park it on the lawn, but since we live near the surgical center and his dentist office, he didn't want it to clutter up the area. So we ended up putting it in a friends garage a few blocks away. Last year I again asked if I could build a fence to hide it from the surgical center and he again said no, but offered to give us the garage. The only bad thing is that he parks in front of it when he works so we have to have the boat hooked up and pulled out the night before if we want to use it.

This is my point, sorry it took so long to get to it confused.gif....I called the city about parking it on the lawn and they said that was ok as long as it was ok with the landlord. I'm not sure if that is a possibility in your situation, but if it is, you can park it there and then hook up and park on the street.

hawgeye, I think I would look for a new house where you could park your Boat smile.gif.