• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

bunk trailer powerloading

irishwalleye

with all the boat landing talk will someone please tell me an easier way to powerload on a bunk trailer. this is my first year without rollers and having a heck of a time.

I think the key is getting the trailer just right in the water. This can be tricky sometimes due to the difference in angle of some ramps. I have found if you are in too deep usually you will have problems. On my setup which is a 20' Triton, the front of the front bunks are usually out of the water about a foot or two. Motor up onto trailer slowly if you can, and as straight as possible. The boat will settle into position on the bunks. Look over both sides of the boat to see if you are centered and if you are, then you can give a little until your boat comes up to the front roller. If you are off a little, steer to correct and just bump the throttle some and it should push you a little in the right direction. It always helps when you first back in to get your bunks completely wet before you start the process. It especially helps when the landing is shallow and you have to winch the boat onto the trailer. Practice makes perfect! Hope this helps.

later,

toddb

toddb summed it up and I do pretty much the same. I back in to get the bunks wet and then pull out just so that the middle two bunks have about 6"-12" exposed. Seems to be working so far. Bunks will self-center your boat fairly well and if you're a tad off a steering correction with a touch of throttle will put you right down in the cradle easily. They beat the pants off a roller trailer if you have any sort of side wind or current to fight when loading since the bunks will pretty much "suck" you into the center of the trailer.