• GUESTS

If You  want access  to member only forums on FM, You will need to Sign-in or  Sign-Up now .

This box will disappear once you are signed in as a member.

Best lures for trolling/early June

jlmiller

I am new to Mille Lacs, and was wondering what are the most popular lures to use trolling? I am heading up for a couple quick trips in early June, and was wondering if I needed to stock up on anything in particular. My wife has never caught anything over 5 pounds and I would love to get her even more hooked than she already is. What lures seem to work best, what colors? I have an endless supply of deep reef runners and smithwick deep rouges. Just wondering if these will come in handy since I only currently use these for fishing Erie in the spring and fall. I see alot of reports of people trolling shad raps up shallow, is this just a night bite or is this used during the daytime hours also? Of course I am keeping my options open for the lindy and spinner bite, but would love to hear some of your best crankbait combinations. Are the fish usually suspended off the bottom, or are they down deep? Thanks in advance for the info. JLMILLER

i would go with the lindy rig, last weekend girlfiend and i caught 4 walleyes between 5 and 6 pounds. I use lindys 6 to 8 feet long with a red hook and a red beed. I think must guys troll cranks in the fall, witch i am going to try this year!

The leeches and crawlers will be the best for starters. But do not rule out fathead minnows once the water gets warmer. I like to fish with three way rigs. I can cover allot of water and catch those active fish.

Bottom bouncers work well too. Use longer snells with one beed. Either red or green beed with red hooks seem to do really well for me.